Skip to main content

WiggleBuddies - Ashwell-Harrington, Julie
Services and organisations that have the Local Offer flash have filled out inclusion information, meaning that they meet the needs of people with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND)

Hello and welcome to WiggleBuddies.

My name is Julie, I am a Quailifed, Experienced, Professional, Fun Childminding service. I live with the two most amazing people my husband John and daughter Miranda. We have 2 cats called Sophie and Lightening, 2 fishes called Smudge and Patchs and 2 turtles called Jeff and tubs.

We live in a wonderful location allows us to enjoy the beaches, bowling, blue reef,  parks, sport centre, swimming, zoo, cinema and the central town. The children will gain a lot fun, fresh air, trips, information, opportunities ,experiences, learn new things. There is so much to explore. I enjoy working in partnership with parent/guardian(s) to give the children the best care,needs,security and safety.The environment in my home is loving, caring, safe,fun and educational.

Who to contact

Contact name
Julie Ashwell-Harrington
Contact position
Childminder
Telephone
07484 677228
E-mail
julie29ah@gmail.com

Where to go

Address
Newquay
Cornwall
Postcode
TR7

Other details

Costs

Table of costs
Table of costs
AmountCost Type
£42 Per Day
£6 Per Hour
Details
My services are Monday to Wednesday 08:00am to 18:00pm
Do you offer a free or reduced rate to carers?
No

Inclusion within our setting

Dietary needs

Has provision
Yes
Experience with
Vegetarian
Organic
Diabetic
Nut allergy
Dairy free
Details
All children are welcomed healthy food provided daily. I am aware of allergies and prepared to cater for special diets if required.

Cultural provisions

Has provision
Yes
Languages spoken

English is my spoken language. I welcome people from all ethnic backgrounds and cultures into our home all children are welcomed and valued. We will celebrate all festivals, share stories, listen to music and much more.

Pet provisions

Are there any pets at the setting?
Yes
List of pets
Cats
Other furred animal

Childcare information

Vacancies

Immediate vacancies
Yes
Vacancy range(s)
From 0 years to 5 years (spaces available: 3)
Date updated
04/09/2018

Funded places

3 & 4 year old funding
Yes
2 year old funding
Yes

Opening times & facilities

Opening times
Opening times
DayOpening timeClosing time
Monday 08:00 am 18:00 pm
Tuesday 08:00 am 18:00 pm
Wednesday 08:00 am 18:00 pm

School pickups

Offers pickups
No

Inclusion details

Saint Piran's Flag
SENCo name
Julie Ashwell-Harrington

Early Years Local Offer response

Learning and development

Systems and strategies we have in place to identify children that may require additional support

In order to identify additional support, I have learning journals, flexible planning, I do regular observations and assessments against (EYFS) Development Matters. I discuss any additional requirements with parent/guardian(s) and provide support and activities to meet the child's needs.

How we identify and support children's learning and development needs

Monitoring the child through assessments against (EYFS) Development Matters.


I will attend training courses to increase my knowledge and understanding of how to support children's needs. I will work with parent/guardian(s) of the child and appropriate agencies to gain extra support if we feel this maybe needed.


 

Links we have to other agencies

I am able to access other services when required via the Family Information Service website.

How we support children transferring to school

I would support children's transitions by provding clear and detailed assessments and reports for parent/guardian(s) to hand on to school. Prepare the children for transition to school by making sure they are emotionially prepared and ready for school. Assist in transition session to school as school requests.


 

Welfare

Specialist skills or training our staff have

I keep my training up to date. I have at present, safeguarding, first aid, food safety, manual handling, channel general awareness, cgm, Quality childminding in cornwall, food allergy education, health and social care, a level 2 early years child care and young work force. I will keep training to increase my knowledge and understanding.

Support we offer regarding children's health and well-being

I carry out activities that promote healthy eating and lifestyles, making sure children get rest and naps, lots of out door fresh air. Talk about road safety when we are out. I use a travel bear for home visits, children love it, puppets for feelings and emotional support. I do use stickers with many children as a reward. I consider the needs of each child and their needs. 

Ways we inform parents about how their child is being supported

I give parent/guardian(s) a daily diary to encourge use and I also use it to write down the child's day to day with me. This is good way for us to communicate and interact about their child. Children and parent/guardian(s) are able to take their learning journeys home on Friday over the weekend this is will enable to look/add/ or comment if they wish. 


I am available to parent/guardian(s) to chat over an arranged time to speak about there child's progress, needs, etc. I have dedicate a Facebook page called WiggleBuddies, with permission I upload photos and details of what the children have been doing through out of the day. I can message or receive messages by parent/guardian(s) when ever necessary. I do like to hope that I and my family could gain a good relationship with all parent/guardian(s) as this will benefit the children and all of us therefore make a good team.

Our complaints policy

parent/guardian(s) are informed of my complaints policy/forms when doing the contract. Policies/complaints are always on display so parent/guardian(s) are free to view at any time. If the parent/guardian (s) are happy to speak to me that’s good, if there not comfortable with that, if  they preferr to write it down and handed to me I will do my very best to try and solve the complaint and if we are not able to resolve it, then I can do provide  OFSTED Direct Number and details.

Access

Alterations we have made to make our building accessible

n/a

Facilities we have for personal care

Toilet upstairs and downstairs, both toilets are in good working order for use and both basins are  to wash hands. I have special smaller 2 toilet seats to enable child to seat on and got 2 stools for younger children for each bathroom so they are able to reach basins  and able to step up to toilets. I provide paper towels, potty.

Specialist resources we have

I have all range of resources. I have resources suitable for babies and children right up to the age of 5 years old. If any specialist resources were required I would discuss with the parent/guardian(s) to ensure they were available.

How we include all children in activities, such as trips

All children are included in all the activities and trips, I ensure that what we do is suitable for all the children age, development and stage. 

Last updated: 22/10/2018

Back to top
Powered by Open Objects ©