Skip to main content

Davies, Mrs Nicola Jane
Services and organisations that have the Local Offer flash have filled out inclusion information, meaning that they meet the needs of people with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND)

I live in a lovely quiet area. I have 7 cats,1 rabbit and 2 chihuahuas
I have been registered since 1993.
Rated Outstanding by Ofsted 2008, 2011 and 2018
I am the co-ordinator of the Bodmin Childminding Group.
The children & I regularly attend:

  • Childminding Group - where I meet with other minders and their little ones giving the children in my care social opportunities in a secure environment.
  • Library
  • Soft Play or similar activities
  • Local parks or woodland walks- we enjoy getting out and about as much as possible exploring the ever changing environment giving the children as many 'real' experiences as possible.

At home - we have many toys and resources for all ages and abilities. the children are able to choose to play, explore and learn, making choices and following their interests.
I have a lovely enclosed rear decked garden on 3 levels all used by the children. We have the top area set with a wendy house, outdoor creation station/mud kitchen a table at childrens level.. herbs, bugs and fruuts growing. There is also storage with easy access where we have a variety of ride on toys. We also have train, sand and water play opportunities, a blackboard for mark making, basket ball for little people and more.
I regularly attend training sessions that are available - I hold a current Safeguarding, Level 2 food hygiene & NVQ3 in Childrens Care, Learning & Development and others.

On occasions my daughter assists me. both my son and daughter are fully DBS checked and have attended first aid courses, plus my daughter has a Diploma in Health & Social Care.
Training is all up to date - EYFS, Child protection, first aid, food hygiene, managing children's behaviour & cluster meetings & conferences.

Who to contact

Contact name
Nicky Davies
Contact position
Childminder
Telephone
01208 74988
Mobile: 07876 135490
E-mail
davies.n11@sky.com

Where to go

Address
Bodmin
Cornwall
Postcode
PL31

Time / date details

Session information
Monday : 8 - 17.30
Tuesday : 8 - 17.30
Wednesday : 8 - 17.30
Thursday : 8 - 17.30
Friday : 8 - 17.30

Other details

Costs

Table of costs
Table of costs
AmountCost Type
£4 Per Hour
Details
Fees include snacks,drinks & lunches, outings and activities
Do you offer a free or reduced rate to carers?
No

Inclusion within our setting

Dietary needs

Has provision
Yes
Experience with
Lactose free
Gluten free
Diabetic
Nut allergy
Dairy free
No food provided
Details
Meals can be provided by myself or parents

Cultural provisions

Has provision
Yes
Experience with
Yes would have an understanding
All children are welcome in our home.
Details
Any relevant training would be obtained to keep me up to date with information to help provide individual care
Languages spoken

English, but open to support other languages if required,

Pet provisions

Are there any pets at the setting?
Yes
List of pets
Cats
Other furred animal

Childcare information

Vacancies

Immediate vacancies
Yes
Details
Various vacancies available soon.
Vacancy range(s)
From 5 years to 8 years (spaces available: 3)
From 0 years to 5 years (spaces available: 2)
Date updated
02/04/2019

Funded places

3 & 4 year old funding
Yes
2 year old funding
Yes

Opening times & facilities

Opening times
Opening times
DayOpening timeClosing time
Monday 8 17.30
Tuesday 8 17.30
Wednesday 8 17.30
Thursday 8 17.30
Friday 8 17.30

School pickups

Offers pickups
Yes
Schools
Nanstallon Community Primary School
Robartes Junior School
Lanivet Community Primary School
The Beacon Infant & Nursery School
Details
I live very close to the Beacon Ace Academy & Nursery School in Bodmin & St.Marys is also a short walk away. I do have transport so able to consider other schools. I have children attending Lanivet school where I collect on a Monday

Inclusion details

Saint Piran's Flag
SENCo name
Nicola Davies

Early Years Local Offer response

Learning and development

Systems and strategies we have in place to identify children that may require additional support

I do regular observastions while the children play, I link these observations to the Early Years Outcomes. I track childrens development on a termly basis and this helps to identify any areas where the children may need additional support.

How we identify and support children's learning and development needs

I identify and support childrens learning and development through ongoing observations and assesments. I follow children interests & encourage learning through play with resources suited to the child age and ability.

Links we have to other agencies

I have attended training to support linking to other agencies. At present I do not have additional support in place for anyone in my care. I do have links with other childminders and our childminder network co-ordinator.

How we support children transferring to school

I help children with their transition into school by supporting them in their independence, children are always encouraged to ask adults for support. We work on being able to do their own shoes and coat, start dressing or undressing, being independant in the toilet and hand washing. We talk about school in a positive way, read books. If out walking we see the school children at playtime, showing them happy and enjoying their experience. I fill out a transition form for parents to take into school to help the teacher know the childs abilities, supporting 'starting points' making it easier for the child to have their interests met.

Welfare

Specialist skills or training our staff have

I have been since 1993, I am a mum and offer 'home from home care' I do have my Level 3 NVQ in Childrens Care Learning & development, Safeguarding, First Aid & Food Hygiene and my daughter has a Diploma in Health & Social Care and her first aid.

Support we offer regarding children's health and well-being

My home is kept secure and well maintained, ongoing visual risk assesments take place all the time at home and while out. I have all equipment and resources available to support children from an early age and keep children safe while out and about. We have regular fire drill and discuss the need for safety at home and while out. I always carry my mobile phone, first aid equipment, emergency contact details for myself or the children with me. We encourage healthy eating, have lots of opportunities for physical activities and equally enough time to rest too.

Ways we inform parents about how their child is being supported

I offer a daily diary for parent to share communication, talk to parents on a daily basis and share a facebook closed group page with photos of activities and outings daily. Also use EYO to support observations to be shared with parents.

Our complaints policy

My Policy on Complaints- I would ask that parents to bring to my attention any aspects of my service they are unhappy about so as we may resolve any issues without delay. They are able to raise their concerns/complaint either face to face or in writing. i will investigate all written complaints & notify those complaining of any outcomes/actions taken within 28 days. I will notify all parents of any complaints made against me or another member of the household, making all information available. I will keep a record of any complaints. I will always display the Ofsted parents poster Ofsted contact details.

Access

Alterations we have made to make our building accessible

I live in a council house therefore there have not been any alterations made, if required I would supply a ramp for the use of wheelchairs. The front garden is on a slight slope to the house with a single step on entry.

Facilities we have for personal care

We have an upstairs toilet and bathroom, hand washing can be done in bowls downstairs, nappy changing mats provided.

Specialist resources we have

Specialist resources required would be purchased depending on the needs of the children. We have a large variety of toys and resources that can suit all ages and abilities.

How we include all children in activities, such as trips

All activities and outing are planned according to the children I have at the time depending on their interests, need and ability. We enjoy getting out and about a lot. I cater for all ages by the use of either my Out & About double buggy or an Out and About single so even the tiny ones can see all around then, I always carry reigns for toddling, often take scooters for older children & can provide welly boots and waterproof puddle suits, and other weather required clothing. When out we always carry snacks and drinks & changes of clothing, often a football, quite often a dolly. If at home the children enjoy free play choices with adults supervision and support. we use self regisrtation and talk about the weather, birthdays, childrens interests on a daily basis including everyone. I make time to work on next steps and individual learning for older children during rest time of the little children.

Last updated: 02/04/2019

Back to top
Powered by Open Objects ©